Archive | October 23, 2010

An Introduction to The Fam

Members of The Fam also get included under one all-encompassing tag, however, rather than like with the Fab Five (where all members receive one tag), the members of The Fam that get talked about the most each have their own tag, at least until this blog has existed so long that I need to free up space by getting rid of individual tags.  Generally, these members are either in my immediate line and were in the sorority with me before I graduated or they are close friends who also happen to be related to me in some way.  Some members of my immediate family have only been mentioned specifically in the post where I originally introduced The Fam, but they are likely to come up more often, like right now.

Members of The Fam

Erika:  Erika is my Big Sis in the sorority.  After a week of receiving clues from her, we met at Big/Little Revelation my freshman year of college.  We have known each other for about four years now.  Erika moved back to her home state after graduating two years ago.  She was already a junior when she took me on as a Little.  She is working and living life with the zest that always came to her.  She does come out to visit, but it seems to be much less frequently now that my class has graduated.  I hope to see her really soon though.

Erika and the Bucket ListThe Start of the Bucket List-visiting Erika in Washington is part of my goal to travel.

You can find all other posts mentioning Erika here.

Kristin:  Kristin is one of my closest friends in the sorority and one of my best friends in our pledge class.  She and I officially bonded on the bus on the way to our new member retreat and were fairly inseparable afterward.  As I previously mentioned, her favorite story to tell is when she sort of met me before either of us joined our sorority, let alone any of them.  We have known each other for four years now.  Kristin later became my adopted Twin during our sophomore year.  She is currently teaching first grade in Connecticut.

Stories featuring Kristin: “A Story About Recruitment” tells a story that Kristin told me when she first met me and “September Fourth:  September Twenty-Third” tells a story that happened to Kristin and I our freshman year.

Kristin and the Bucket ListThe Start of the Bucket List-visiting Kristin in Connecticut is part of my goal to travel.

You can find all other posts mentioning Kristin here.

Allie:  Allie is one of my closest friends in the sorority.  We met briefly when I first joined, because she is my Aunt.  The next semester, she went off to Semester at Sea.  But the semester after that, we some how ended up becoming roommates and that’s when we really bonded.  We have known each other for four years now.  Allie spent the last year applying to law schools and this year she is going to law school in California.  She recently got engaged to her marine fiance (well, fiance now).  She tends to come out to visit a lot and should be out more often because Jeff is currently deployed.  I actually need to check up on her later today.

Posts specifically about Allie:  “Some Thoughts About Weddings

Allie and the Bucket ListThe Start of the Bucket List-visiting Allie in California is part of my goal to travel.

You can find all other posts mentioning Allie here.

Members of The Fam in my Direct Lineage

Lilac:  Lilac and I met during my sophomore year of college when she became my first Little.  We have known each other for three years now.  Lilac was very focused on school and graduated two whole years early.  She is now doing charitable work somewhere in the middle of nowhere.  They keep moving her around, so that’s the only reason I’m not too sure where she is right now (and why she’s not on my list of people to visit, she is, I just don’t have a concrete location to visit), but last I checked, she was in northern California.  Last I heard, she wants to go to culinary school  and hopefully become a chef.

You can find all posts mentioning Lilac here.

Briana:  Briana is one of my Grandlittles.  Briana and I met during my junior year of college when she became one of Lilac’s Littles (she was originally part of a set of twins, but her twin has since transferred schools).  Since Briana joined during her sophomore year (she and Lilac are the same age, actually), she and I have only known each other for two years now.  Briana is extremely spunky and always down for a good time.  She hopes to one day be a director and is still attending my alma mater.

You can find all posts mentioning Briana here.

Stacey:  Stacey and I met during my junior year in college when she became one of my Littles (she was originally part of a set of twins, but her twin has since dropped).  She and I have known each other for two years now.  Stacey is also focused on school and is graduating at the end of this year.  She plans to go into SLHS.  She is still attending my alma mater.

You can find all posts mentioning Stacey here.

Rebekah:  Rebekah and I met during my junior year in college when she became one of my Littles (she was originally part of a set of twins, but she has since dropped).  She and I have known each other for two years now.  Rebekah always has a propensity for fun and is working toward a degree in Psychology, though I’m not sure if she actually wants to necessarily do anything in that particular field.  Time will tell.  Rebekah is still attending my alma mater.

You can find all posts mentioning Rebekah here.

The missing link in this family line is, of course, me.  But, again, more on me later.

You can find all posts mentioning The Fam here.

Tomorrow, I will be talking about The Boys, stay tuned!