Archive | March 2, 2012

The Most Annoying Thing about Pinterest

So I use my pinterest account a lot to keep track of things.  You already saw my halloween costume section.  I also planned a pinata themed wedding for Steph, which I will share soon.  And I also keep track of recipes I like, cute craft ideas, fun things in patterns I like, and so on.

So yesterday, I was browsing one of the blogs I follow, The Cupcake Blog, which, as you would assume, posts pictures of cupcakes.  Well in this case, I found a great recipe for an oat based muffin.  High in protein, low in calories, low in fat.  Perfect for Rich while he’s on a mission to cut some fat out of his diet.  He’s also trying to stop drinking beer for the next two weeks.  I’m not sure if it’s going well or not, as last night he repeatedly drunk texted me.  Maybe he’s sticking to his whiskey cokes, I don’t know.  Though that would account for the massive drunk texting.

Anyway, the muffin in question is from a blog called Chocolate Chilli Mango, so I went to the website to look at the recipe and  then I saved it to my pinterest board for recipes.

If you follow my pin, you will note that I captioned it (because I want to remember why I thought these things were worth pinning) “Healthy muffins for Rich while he’s cutting fat.”

You’ll also notice that eight people repinned it.  Of the eight that repinned it, half of them left the caption “Healthy muffins for Rich while he’s cutting fat.”  Why do these four people care so much about having healthy muffins for Rich?  Are they thinking of making him these muffins too?  Of course not, they just liked the idea of healthy muffins.  So why can’t they change the caption?  How hard is that?  Seriously.  If you have no idea who Rich is, just shorten the caption to “healthy muffins” like everyone else did, seriously.

Other repins that left my caption intact (and you will notice again that they probably sound ridiculous on these peoples’ pages):

White Sperries!  #thesearemysize: Where if you actually click the pin, it leads you to a search for boat shoes on Sperry Topsider’s page narrowed to 7.5 slims (or AAA, really narrow, basically).  The four people who repinned that and left that caption probably don’t wear shoes in 7.5S.

Brown Sperries!  #inmysize:  Leads to the same search as mentioned above.  Similarly, I can’t imagine that the five people who repinned and left the caption wear my shoe size.  My favorite also had it pinned to a board called “gift ideas for him.”  She should follow the link because though Sperry does make a similar shoe for men, those are totally women’s shoes.

Gold dresses? I can’t decide if I love this or if it’s a little too much for me… #tailgategalaoutfit?:  The person that repinned this likely attended Bama.  Why on earth would you wear a gold dress to a Bama tailgate/gala?  This makes no sense.

Black and gold flight attendant.  #thisistoofunnyforwords:  Why?  Why is this funny to the person who repinned it?  I know why I think it’s funny, but I’m pretty sure you don’t think it’s funny for the same reason, or even at all.

If only Phantom were back in Denver. #broadwaythemeparty:  The people who repinned this are from Alaska and Alabama.  What care do they have about Phantom of the Opera touring in Denver, Colorado?  I imagine this is low on their list of desires.

Flight attendant #taketheskiesgogreekhaha:  This is only funny in one context.  Do the people who repinned this get that context?  I imagine not.  Are they Greek?  Doesn’t look like it.

The napkin holders kind of look like pinatas:  From the aforementioned pinata wedding.  Would someone else care that they look specifically like pinatas?  I don’t know.

 

And then my next question is does anyone else speak in a voice similar to mine?  I can’t think of anyone.  These don’t necessarily sound ridiculous as repins, but I wonder if other people would phrase these thoughts the same way as me:

This is cute, but I’m still trying to decide how it’s a flamingo… #pink

Pink and gray mini plaid? #idontreallylikeplaid#butilovethis

Still love this #lookatthebowsonthehat

Can’t decide if this is awesome or odd #thefruitprobablylookssuperfake

Argyle owls!!!!! #soooooocute

White/red Southern Belle #isplantationanewsearchwordforthiscostume