The Funny Thing About Flying

So I took my mother to the airport this morning and I have a few thoughts on it.

Apparently I fly at super odd times because I have never seen the airport so packed or the security lines so long.

See, I happily fly red eyes.  I love red eyes.  I sleep on planes anyway, so why not?  Or I arrive at the airport around four in the morning.  You know, odd times.  And the lines are always fantastically short.  I love it.

I was also thinking about the last time I flew, when I was going to see Shawn.  I had a layover at JFK (as you know) and it took about an hour to puddle jump from JFK to where he is in upstate New York.

So when my plane was boarding, I said “See you soon!” and then when I got off the plane, I was greeted to the following exchange when I turned my phone back on.

“I thought you arrive in an hour?”

“See you soon?”

“Deidree?”

“Deidree?”

“Why aren’t you answering your phone?”

“Answer your phone.”

And then he was still a half hour late…

Leave a comment