Archive | April 15, 2011

Where Every Thursday You Learn…

So last night was my first hosting gig by myself…

The equipment takes forever to set up!  I may have to be there an hour early every time just so I can get everything set up on time and have time to mingle and get participants.  I did have to upload all of the owner’s music on my computer, though, so that did take up a lot of my time.

As for the rest of the night, it went all right.

First, let me give you my job duties.  I’m not really there to host trivia.  I’m there to sell alcohol.  That’s right, I’m a booze jockey.

The restaurants hire us to get people into their establishments and drinking.  I’m totally okay with that.  It makes perfect sense to me.  So you can imagine my failure in forgetting the specials a few times.  I think I was fine by the last round though, except I forgot that they play beer pong after I leave.  Next time.

I am happy though that it’s college night when I host trivia.  I noticed during my trainings that older people complain the most about the whole game.  It was nice to see mostly young people playing.  Although I did get a few complaints when I asked old Brody to look up something for me because my phone doesn’t have data.

Next week.  Next week it will have data.

That was nice that old Brody came to support me, though.  It made me very happy to have someone I knew playing and maybe more of my friends can come next time.

There was a way to make my voice louder on the equipment, so that made me happy.

But, I did have a problem with adding, so I messed up a few times on team scores.  They were mildly understanding and I figured out a way to fix my score sheet for the next time to make simple math easier for me…

I was talking to old Brody about it and I asked him what he thought of these potential slogans:

“Welcome to trivia, where every Thursday, you get to watch me make a complete ass out of myself.”

I’m kind of partial to this next one though:

“Welcome to trivia, where every Thursday, you learn why the government is pushing for more math and science in our public schools.”

I’ll update you all next week on my improvements.