24 Before 24 Amendment

I wanted to make a 24 before 24 amendment.  I have “Beat old Brody in scrabble” on my list.  But, why should anything on my list depend on another person?

This goal depends on Brody still speaking to me long enough for me to beat him in scrabble.  And, he hasn’t been speaking to me for a couple of weeks now…

I don’t want any one of my goals to depend on whether I’m still spending time with any one person.

My goals are about things I want to do.

Sure, I do want to beat old Brody in scrabble.  But that’s not the same as saying “get on a horse” or “visit four new states.”  I wouldn’t want to do those things on my own (because conquering your fears alone is terrifying and traveling alone for an entire trip is no fun, respectively), but they are things I am fully capable of doing on my own.  I can’t beat Brody in scrabble without his full participation.

So I want to edit that item on my list.  I’ll keep it on there, and if I can complete it and my alternative, I’ll call myself awesome.

But for now, my alternative is to really focus on redecorating and cleaning.  I don’t know what you call this.

Let’s call it house maintenance.  I want to focus on house maintenance.

It’s time to bring back Operation Room Redecoration!

2 thoughts on “24 Before 24 Amendment

Leave a comment