Archive | December 30, 2010

Snowmygosh 2010

I have a slightly high level of paranoia…  If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, you are probably well aware of this.  I have an uncanny ability to take normal odd occurrences and take them to the extremes.  Someone isn’t answer their phone?  Something bad must have happened.  I have a tiny cough?  Emergency medical situation!  All sorts of things like that.

So, given the knowledge of my paranoia levels, I’m sure any regular readers–if I have regular readers, of course–are waiting with bated breath to hear my thoughts on Snowmygosh 2010…

And as you’ve probably predicted, my thoughts aren’t good.

I’ve been checking my itinerary every day since I heard the major New York airports were closed on Sunday.  My flight time (but not my particular flight) has been canceled for the past four days…  Four days is a long time for a flight to be canceled.  Yesterday it was scheduled as on time for the flight leaving early this morning, and then it was canceled.  Tomorrow’s flight is currently scheduled as an on time flight as well, but we’ll see.  My airport is having some cancellations and many delays now, but we’re not at feet of snow, so it’s mostly delays.  I’ll start to feel better once the flights for my time start going through.  Even if they’re delayed, I’ll feel so much better as long as they aren’t canceled.

The major airports in the NYC area were supposed to be up and running at full capacity today, so you can imagine how much my heart sank when my flight time for the 30th was canceled.  But then, I though that maybe today didn’t mean the 30th from 12 AM to 12 AM, but instead the airports’ “hours of operation”, which are something like 4AM to midnight or so of the next day.  I’m not actually sure if airports close per se.  I do know that Denver doesn’t have outgoing flights after about 1:00 AM and they don’t start up again until 6:00 AM.  Flights stop arriving just after midnight.  So I guess it’s not really open for those hours in between.  The NYC area airports are probably the same.

In any case, Steph keeps telling me that I’m just being paranoid.  She insists that a week is a long time as far as weather goes.  I have yet to tell Shawn about my paranoia.  He’ll probably be happier if he’s blissfully unaware.

So, I guess I just really have to wait it out and see what happens.  However, if Denver and NYC could mesh and get tomorrow’s incarnation of my flight out, that would really boost my confidence (and then all I have to depend on is Monday/Tuesday, since it seems like this flight doesn’t go out on the weekends).