Archive | October 3, 2010

Top Halloween Costumes for 2010

So on September thirtieth the National Retail Federation posted their list of the top ten Halloween costumes of 2010.  As you’ve noticed, I really like Halloween costumes, so it’s only fitting that I tell you about this.  But rather than just saying “Oh, here are the top ten costumes,” I’m going to show you what I would wear out of these costumes.  Fun right?  I’ll do the list in reverse order.

10.  Dracula:  I think this is kind of a cop-out, as the general “vampire” appears later on the list  (sorry for spoiling it for you), so here’s my pick for the number eleven costume, Ghost.  Honestly, I probably wouldn’t dress as a ghost, but this costume is pretty cool:

9.  Athlete/Batman (tie):  Athlete remains in the number nine spot from last year.  I don’t know how far up Batman is since I can’t find the expanded 2009 list  I wouldn’t dress as Batman, so since there’s a tie, I’m going to ignore that one.  However, here’s my pick for Athlete.  Referee and cheerleader costumes are always really popular, but you all know my love of college football:

8.  Fairy:  I don’t know how far up Fairy is, since I can’t find the expanded 2009 list.  The hard thing about costumes that are supposed to have wings is that the costumes you like often do not come with wings.  This one does, however, and it’s pink:

7.  Zombie:  I don’t know how far up Zombie is, since I can’t find the expanded 2009 list.  I wouldn’t really dress up as a Zombie either, but this costume is alright:

6.  CatCat remains in the number six spot from last year.  I have mixed feelings about purchasing Cat costumes, because it’s one of my go-to costumes that I can make pretty easily.  I do like this one, though:

5.  Wench/Tart/VixenWench/Tart/Vixen remains in the number five spot from last year.  I have always wanted this beer stein purse.  I think it’s hilarious!  I also think this dress is really cute:

4.  Nurse:  I don’t know how far Nurse is up, since I can’t find the expanded 2009 list.  I actually think Nurse costumes are pretty cute, but there are always costumes I prefer from year to year.  Anyway, I like this one best:

3.  PiratePirate remains in the number three spot from last year.  I already have a Pirate costume, but this dress is so adorable!  So adorable, in fact, that it doesn’t bother me that the hat is sold separately–which is probably for the best, since it would probably be some floppy non-hat looking thing if it was included:

2.  VampireVampire remains in the number two spot from last year.  Including the numbers dressing as Dracula would raise the total, but not enough to surpass the number one costume.  I’m kind of over the Vampire thing, but I’m a fan of this costume:

1.  WitchWitch remains the number one costume since at least 2006.  I was a Witch when I was younger a few times, but I think the fact that it is the number one costume is what turns me off of it.  Witch is so classic, I’d rather not be it…  I know, that sounds weird.  I was also a devil in my younger years, so it really doesn’t make any sense.  I really like the bronze and black contrast here:

If you’ve clicked through the majority of costume links I’ve given (since I’ve started talking about costumes), you know that I tend to prefer Leg Avenue and Playboy costumes.  I’ve included links to their main costume pages so you can look through the entire line if you enjoy them like I do.  Unfortunately, a lot of the costumes I like/own are old.  Oh well, some good new stuff is always coming out!  Enjoy!