Good Quotes

So I woke up this morning and knew that last night was unfortunate.  I am currently consoling myself with Dead in the Family.  I’m enjoying all the time I’ve been able to spend reading things I like.  Sadly, I am almost out of Sookie Stackhouse novels.  The next one won’t be out until next May, probably, so in the meantime, I think I will get back to rereading Les Miserables.  It’s one of my favorite books, actually, and it should keep me occupied for a while.  Today, my best friend Steph is taking the GRE–she actually started a half hour ago.  I’m not worried about her; she’s an engineer.  To celebrate, we’re going to have girls’ night some time next week and see a Rockies game.  It’s going to be awesome.  I think tomorrow we might watch the Rocky Mountain Showdown at a sports bar.  If only I wasn’t a poor Post-Grad, then I could have bought tickets, but I’d rather save my money for Georgia and Homecoming against Tech.

But anyway, since last night was apparently an unfortunate one, I couldn’t think of anything to write about this morning.  I checked Facebook (which I haven’t been checking every day lately, but my phone said I had a few messages) and I noticed a quote on my profile.  I think I put it there my junior year of college when I took Literary Theory.  The professor was one of my favorites going through college because she was always hysterical and interesting.  During a discussion on Postmodernism, she said the following statement and it has always been one of my favorites since, as it stands, it’s in the little box under my picture.  I don’t really know if anyone else pays attention to those.  Anyway, the quote is:

“The world is meaningless? Let’s not pretend that art can make meaning then, let’s just play with nonsense.”

To really understand postmodernism, you need to understand modernism.  They are actually pretty similar, aside from what this quote emulates.  Modernism is a focus on lamenting the fragmentation and incoherence of the modern world, such as war.  Modernism has a lot to do with the concept of war, generally and for whatever reason.  This lament seems to support the idea that the world is meaningless.  Postmodernism, in contrast, recognizes the meaningless in the world and rather than lamenting it, it celebrates it.

I like the idea of celebrating nonsense.  So much happens in the world that doesn’t make any sense at all.  Even in each individual person’s life, so much is nonsensical.  I rather like the idea of taking this as something to appreciate rather than fear.

In any case, this is something that has always stuck with me since I heard it junior year.

I think everyone has some sort of quote or idea that sticks out to them.  So I feel like the little box under the profile picture says a lot about a person.  I’ve had a nerdy English major quote under my picture for about two years now.  One of my other friends changes her quote every few months and it’s always something hysterical.  Many of my Greek friends note their sorority affiliation.  The quotes people associate with themselves is a marker of who they are.

A good quote says a lot about a person.

Also, if you would like to read more about postmodernism, here’s a link to some notes on it: Postmodernism

Leave a comment